It is critical to seek medical treatment as soon as possible after a car accident to both ensure the wellbeing of your health and that you retain your rights under Florida’s Personal Injury Protection (PIP) law. You must seek medical treatment within a 14-day timeframe, or you could be denied certain insurance benefits.
Florida 14-Day Car Accident PIP Rule
In 2013, lawmakers added a treatment window to the Florida PIP (or No-Fault) law, requiring injured individuals to seek initial medical services and care within a two-week timeframe to be eligible for PIP reimbursement.
The statute also established monetary limits to PIP claim benefits. Under the law, if you received medical treatment within the two-week window, and:
- Suffered injuries that are considered non-emergency, you can only receive $2,500 in benefits.
- Suffered injuries that are considered an “emergency medical condition,” you may collect the maximum payout available from your PIP coverage.
The state requires all Florida drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 PIP coverage to pay for injuries sustained in an accident regardless of who was at fault. Depending on your full insurance plan, more benefits may be available to you.
Who Provides Medical Treatment Matters for a Claim?
PIP covers both emergency and non-emergency medical treatments as long as they are administered within two weeks after an accident by licensed medical professionals identified in the law. Covered medical services will only be reimbursed if they are lawfully provided, supervised, ordered, or prescribed by a:
- licensed physician (M.D.),
- licensed osteopathic physician (D.O.),
- licensed chiropractic physician (D.C.),
- or licensed dentist (D.D.S.).
Services may be provided by a hospital, a facility that owns or is owned by a hospital, or a licensed emergency transportation and treatment provider.
Care providers not explicitly listed in the statute may not meet PIP criteria and your insurance company could deny your claim. We recommend checking with your insurance company before visiting a provider to ensure coverage.
Protect Your Legal Rights After an Accident
After a car accident, injuries may take time to appear. Mild discomfort in the immediate hours after the incident could turn into debilitating pain over a few days. We urge anyone injured in a car accident to seek medical attention as quickly as possible after the incident, keeping the 14-day claim window in mind.
If you decide to pursue an accident claim, be diligent about keeping a detailed report of all medical care and expenses following the incident. Keep receipts for anything you pay for out of pocket that could be considered a medical expense related to your accident.
Our team has more than 30 years of experience working one on one with clients to get the justice, recovery, and compensation they deserve after an accident. We treat our clients like family. Call us today for a free consultation about your case at (305) 662-6178.